Dwayne Adams represents youth constituency in ERC

President, Irfaan Ali and Prime Minister, Brigadier (ret’d) Mark Phillips (center) and members of the ERC.

On Tuesday March 21, 2023, eight Commissioners of the reconstituted Board were sworn in by H.E. President Dr Mohamed Irfaan Ali. Mr. Dwayne Adams took the oath of office as Commissioner representing the youth constituency having been elected from a cluster of youth organisations.

The National Youth Policy (2015) of Guyana defines a youth as an individual between the ages of 14-35 years old.

Moreover, the board wishes to reiterate that from the inception, the mandate of the ERC was agreed to by the government and the opposition sides in parliament and focuses on the country’s diverse population. The body is therefore guided by 24 functions as enshrined in the constitution.