48-year-old Phillip Clarke wins 40th Independence Three-Stage Cycle Race

Director of Sport, Steve Ninvalle (far left) and the respective winners of the Independence Three-Stage Cycle Road Race

Another sparkle of the race was 15-year-old Alexander Leung, completing all three stages on his way to deserved Juniors title.

Director of Sport, Steve Ninvalle, charged the Guyana Cycling Federation (GCF) to invest in programme to develop the youths since “they are the future”.

Furthermore, Ninvalle asked the GCF to consider hosting a five-stage event and to incorporate courses outside of the norm in Berbice and Demerara, and assured the NSC will continue to assist.

40th Independence Three-Stage Cycle Road Race

Category First Second Third
Seniors Phillip Clarke Romello Crawford Curtis Dey
Ladies Cliveica Spencer Tandeia Noel
Veterans (Age: 40-45) Robin Persaud Kwame Ridley Alex Mendes
Veterans (Over 45) Ian Jackson Mark Spencer Nigel London
Juniors Alexander Leung Aaron Newton Ajani Cutting
Juveniles Sidwell Sandy Torell Noel