Fixtures for Kares One Guyana T10 Blast hints at thrilling action

The 32 teams are confirmed, and now the fixtures are out for the inaugural Kares One Guyana T10 Tapeball Blast set for July 29 and 30 in Georgetown.

The fixtures, computer-generated to avoid any biases in the selection and offer a fair chance for every team to make the semi-finals, have hinted from match one that it should be cracking action from 09:00h on Saturday, July 29.

The ten overs per-side tournament will be played in a straight knockout format with matches on the opening day at the Guyana Defence Force Ground, Police Sports Club Ground, and Queen’s College Ground, while the semi-finals and grand final will be on July 30 at the Everest Cricket Club Ground.

To progress to the championship match, a team must win three matches on day one and their semi-final on day two.

They will then qualify to compete for the first prize of $1M cash and the specially crafted One Guyana Trophy.

Commenting on the draw, the Co-Director of the tournament, John Ramsingh, stated, “We as a team were stunned after the fixtures were generated, and I truly believe it will be like a final from match one. I wish I could be in three places at once to watch all of the matches, but I can’t, so I hope fans come out in their numbers and do the same, keep taking photos and videos.”

Co-Director of the tournament, John Ramsingh

He added, “It is hard to pick any favoured side, and we love that it gives all teams a fair chance to reach the final four, where there will be cash prizes. My wish again is for teams to follow the rules and be respectful of the umpires, whose call is final. The finals are expected to be streamed live, and we want to show the world we have a quality product in Guyana.”

Ramsinigh noted that teams have until July 14 to submit final squads after previously submitting preliminary squads.

Furthermore, the Co-Director expressed immense gratitude for the support of Kares Engineering, who quickly committed to being the title sponsor, and Mohamed’s Enterprise, who funded the first-place prize and offset the transportation cost for team Moruca.

More so, Banks DIH, through GT Beer for fueling the weekend, Star Rentals, Avinash Contracting and Scrap Metal Inc., ENet, Regal Stationery and Computer Centre, V-Net Communications, Trophy Stall, Premier Insurance, Cricket Zone USA, Beacon Café, Continental Transport, Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sport, National Sports Commission, RS53 RestoBar and Lounge, Jacobs Jewelry & Pawn Shop, First Change Builder Inc. Impressions Inc. and Sicko Mode.

The first-ever champions will pocket $1M, while the losing finalist will collect $300,000.

The two losing semi-finalists will walk away with $100,000 each. There will also be prizes for outstanding individual performances.

Additionally, there will be a celebrity match before the championship match where the winning side will be rewarded $200,000, which will be donated to a charity of their choice.

The celebrity match will feature the President, Dr. Irfaan Ali, former national and international cricketers, entertainers, sponsors, media members, athletes, former and current Ministers, and other influential persons in Guyana.

The Co-Director reminded that it is not only players, who will walk away with their pockets filled as there will be numerous instant prizes for the fans who participate in cricket novelty activities. At the same time, the children will be pampered with free rides, games, and treats in the Banks DIH Fun Zone.

Round of 32 fixtures:

Matches starting at 09:00h

  1. Eccles All Stars v Hero Riders – Queen’s College Ground
  2. Ministry of Human Services and Social Security v Bartica Bulls – Queen’s College Ground
  3. Avinash All-Stars v PB Contractors – Queen’s College Ground
  4. Continental Transport v Moruca XI – Guyana Defence Force Ground
  5. Eastsye v Airport XI – Guyana Defence Force Ground
  6. The United Crew v Spartan Strikers – Guyana Defence Force Ground
  7. Village Rams v Young Steppaz – Police Sports Club
  8. Ministry of Housing & Water v Central Stars – Police Sports Club

Matches starting at 11:00h

  1. Ariel XI v Movements Family – Queen’s College Ground
  2. Big B’s Blairmont Blazers v MS 13 XI – Queen’s College Ground
  3. Team Corruption v Upsetters – Queen’s College Ground
  4. Guyana Power & Light v Laluni – Guyana Defence Force Ground
  5. 1Name Brand v Storm Chasers – Guyana Defence Ground
  6. Tarmac Titans v EC Express – Guyana Defence Force Ground
  7. Diamond Gunners v Region Three Police – Police Sports Club
  8. Avery Lounge v V-Net Vipers – Police Sports Club

Round of 16 matches commences at 13:30h  at all three venues, while Super Eight matches start at 16:00h and will be at Police and Guyana Defence Grounds only.

The semi-finals and final are on July 30 at Everest Cricket Ground.