Regal teams sweep titles at Vice President’s Softball Cup

Over-50 MVP Unnis Yusuf accepts his prize from Vice President Dr. Bharrat Jagdeo in the presence of GSCL Inc. President Ian John

Despite being put down, Yusuf gathered runs on both sides of the wicket and shared in a valuable 91-run third-wicket partnership with Wayne Jones, who made 27.

Khemraj Sumair contributed 14 not out as Regal Legends amassed 243-3.

Mohamed Rafeek and Michael Ifill took one wicket each.

Aash Decor was pegged back early in the chase as they were reduced to 37-4, with pacer Parsram Persaud and David Harper making inroads.

Persaud sent back Rafeek (03), Eon Lovell (01), and Patrice Stewart (11) while Harper disturbed the stumps of Lloyd Ruplall (00).

Despite a fighting unbeaten 59 from skipper Seeraj Bhimsain and 29 not out from Jai Ram, Aash Decor was never in the hunt and was restricted to 121-4. Persaud claimed 3-13 and Harper 1-32.

Yusuf was named man of the match and the most valuable player of the tournament.

He received a trophy and one Supertronics Electrical Motor Cycle. Regal Legends pocketed a trophy and $300,000, and Aash Decor pocketed a trophy and $50,000.

Over-40 (Masters)

A fine half-century by Patrick Rooplall and a collective bowling effort guided Regal Masters to a 28-run victory over Ariel Masters in the final of the over-40 division.

Rooplall’s prolific form continued as he led Regal Masters to a challenging 186-8, batting first. Rooplall and D. Singh handed Regal Masters a solid start with an opening stand of 95 before Singh was bowled by Samuel Kingston for 22.

Rooplall struck four fours and eight sixes in an attacking 71 before Rawl Reid caught him. Regal Masters were pegged back somewhat in the middle overs.

Lennox Marks (19), Keith Fraser (17), E. Mohamed (17), and Khemchand Dindyal (13) propped up the total.

S. Huberth claimed 2-40 as Ariel Masters were bowled out for 158 in 17.3 overs.

They were put on the back foot early in the chase as Balram Roopnarine and D. Wallace (1-42) reduced them to 24-3.

Vice President Bharrat Jagdeo (centre) alongside members of the Regal Masters team and officials of the Georgetown Softball Cricket League Inc.

Amir Nizamuddin and Chien Gittens kept their team in the hunt with a fighting fourth wicket stand of 82, but D. Singh, aided by some intelligent fielding, removed them both and also accounted for Richard Latif (00) to trigger a procession; Nizamudeen made 49 and Gittens 43.

H. Dilchand contributed 17 as Singh claimed 3-28, Roy Persaud 3-41, and Balram Roopnarine 2-28.

Rooplall was named man-of-the-match and MVP.  He took home a trophy and one Supertronics Electrical Motor Cycle.

Regal Masters received a trophy and $300,000, and Ariel Masters a trophy and $50,000.

Open category

Regal beat Hyde Park by six wickets to win the final of the open category. Batting first, Hyde Park could only muster 108-8.

They lost the early wickets of Travis Drakes (04), K. Sinclair (04), and B. Mangra (00) to be at 20-3.

However, Jonathan Fernandes and H. Doochan added 38 for the fourth wicket before Doochan departed for 22.

Fernandes hit one four and eight sixes in a top score of 59 as Ricardo Adams and Marvin Bobb picked up two wickets each.

Vice President Bharrat Jagdeo presents the Over-50 trophy to the victorious Regal Legends skipper Mahendra ‘Anil’ Hardyal

Regal lost opener Sachin Singh (05), but skipper Fazal Rafiek and Adams put on 52 for the second wicket to stabilize the chase before Adams went for nine, caught off D. Mangra, who also sent back Rafiek for 38. Bobb (07) soon departed.

Sampson (11*) and Ricardo Poloram (04*) saw their team home as they responded with 109-4 in 10.3 overs, while Mangra took 2-7.

Fernandez was voted man-of-the-match and MVP; he collected a trophy and one Supertronics Electrical Motor Cycle. Regal received $300,000, and Hyde Park received a trophy and $50,000.

Vice President Bharrat Jagdeo congratulated the winning teams and outstanding players at the presentation ceremony.

He said that the Government has placed a lot of emphasis on sports as they are upgrading many grounds across the country.